Fellowship (FCOptom) is the College’s highest award. It is an acknowledgement of commitment to the profession, experience and accomplishments.

Share options

Call for 2018 Life and Honorary Fellowship nominations

  • Life Fellowships are awarded to members of the College in good standing, with a history of membership of the College and who have demonstrated a significant contribution to the profession of optometry or to the College.
  • Honorary Fellowships are awarded to people who are not eligible for College membership but have demonstrated clear evidence of a real and important contribution to the profession of optometry. 

If you would like to nominate someone, please download the Nomination Form and email, together with details of the nominee's contribution, to catherine.moloney@college-optometrists.org, or post back to the College.

Full details of the process and criteria are set out in the College Standing Order. All nominations are considered in strict confidence by the Electoral College, which meets at the end of June.  

Please remember to attach details of the nominee's contribution with your nomination and a copy of their biography or CV. Nominations received without sufficient evidence of the nominee's contribution may not be considered. 

The deadline for submission is 12 noon on Wednesday 20 June 2018.


Life and Honorary Fellowships have been awarded to the following:

  • Mr David Alexander
  • Nick Astbury
  • Professor Roger Anderson
  • Mr Frank Barraclough
  • Mr Michael Bateman
  • Professor Jan Bergmanson
  • Mrs Jennifer Birch
  • Mrs Angela Bishop
  • Lady Betty Boothroyd
  • Mr Mike Brace
  • Mr Richard Broughton
  • Professor Roger Buckley
  • Dr Wolfgang Cagnolati
  • Donald Cameron
  • Dr Robert Chappell OBE
  • Professor W Charman
  • Dr Philip Cole OBE 
  • Mr Tom Collingridge
  • Mr Peter Cowan
  • Professor J Cronly-Dillon
  • Professor Anthony Cullen
  • Mr Harris Daile
  • Professor Stephen J Dain
  • Professor Bertil Damato
  • Mr Anthony Di Stefano
  • Professor Christine Dickinson
  • Professor Neville Drasdo
  • Professor Harminder Dua
  • Mr Richard Earlam
  • Professor David Edgar
  • Mr Brian Ellis MBE
  • Mr G Burtt Holmes
  • Professor John Flanagan
  • Dr Colin Fowler
  • Professor John L Francis
  • Professor J P Frisby
  • Tone Garaas-Maurdalen
  • Professor David Gartry
  • Professor Bernard Gilmartin
  • Fred Giltrow-Tyler
  • Mr Malcolm Gray
  • Dr Feike Grit
  • Dr Robert Harper
  • Mr John Hart
  • Mr Philip Heal
  • Mr David Heath MP
  • Professor David Henson
  • Professor Brien Holden
  • Peter Hong
  • Professor Mohammed Jalie
  • Lord Jenkin of Roding
  • Professor Peng Tee Khaw
  • Mr Richard Keeler
  • Dame Jill Knight DBE
  • Professor John Lawrenson
  • Anita Lightstone
  • Mr Richard Llewellyn
  • Mr Donald Loran
  • Lord Low of Dalston CBE
  • Dr John Adrian Macdonald Jennings
  • Professor Caroline MacEwen
  • Professor Ron Mallett
  • Professor John Marshall
  • Miss Elizabeth McClure
  • Professor George Miller MBE
  • Professor Michel Millodot
  • Ms Gwyneth Morgan
  • Miss Judith Morris
  • Mr Frank Munro
  • Professor Kovin Naidoo
  • Professor Rachel North
  • Mr Frank Norville
  • Professor Daniel O'Leary
  • Bryony Pawinska
  • Francis John Pettigrew
  • Jonathan Pointer
  • Kenneth Pullum
  • Mr Ronald Rabbetts
  • Mr Michael Redican
  • Geoff Roberson
  • Mr Richard Roberts OBE
  • Mr Melvyn Roffe
  • Professor Gary Rubin
  • Professor Martin Rubinstein
  • Professor John Sparrow
  • Miss Fiona Spencer
  • Ms Helen Stanforth
  • David Stidwill
  • Miss Janet Stone
  • Elaine Styles
  • Professor Deborah Sweeney
  • Professor Brian Tighe
  • Professor David Thomson
  • Dr Bridget Towle
  • Mrs Rosie Varley
  • Mr Steve Vernon
  • Dr Norman Wallis
  • Mr Trevor Warburton
  • Professor Arnold Wilkins
  • Dr Michael Wolffe
  • Professor George Woo
  • Andrew Yorke

Collapsible toggler


Fellowship by portfolio

Fellowship by portfolio is a flexible way of achieving Fellowship based on achievements in the workplace as well as success in examinations. Fellows of the College are entitled to use the affix FCOptom in recognition of their commitment to their own professional development or their support of others' CPD, as well as their commitment to high quality eye care.

If you have been a member of the College for more than five years you can apply for a Fellowship by portfolio. You can nominate yourself in one or more of six categories:

  • clinical practice
  • the provision of visual or wider healthcare
  • optometric research
  • optometric education
  • the management of visual healthcare
  • higher qualifications in vision science.

Then submit a portfolio of evidence covering a wide range of practice demonstrating how your accomplishments, including any examination success, in the chosen categories have benefited the practice of optometry, as well as your practice. You will also need a referee to support your nomination and provide your own supporting statement for each category chosen. A panel of assesors will meet to discuss your portfolio and, if they approve it, you will receive your Certificate during the following annual Diploma Ceremony - one of the highlights of the College year.

Please read through the guidance and the other key documents below, before you complete the necessary application forms. The process is straightforward and can be completed within three months. However, you can progress at a pace that suits you.  

For more information, or to submit your registration form, email educationhelp@college-optometrists.org.

Key documents






View a list of current Fellows by Examination and Portfolio

  • Irfan Mikail Ahmed
  • Dr Peter Allen
  • Richard James Allen
  • Professor Roger Anderson
  • Pradeep Kumar Bahri
  • Nik Banurji
  • David Berkow
  • Dr Susan Blakeney
  • Dr Salvator Camilleri
  • Dr De Gaulle Igbodiegwu Chigbu
  • Adrian Chorley
  • Caroline Louise Christie
  • Colin Davidson
  • Professor Leon Davies
  • Christian Dutton
  • Dr Frank Eperjesi
  • Professor Bruce John William Evans
  • Peter Frampton
  • Gavin Galloway
  • Peter Charles Garwood
  • Alexander Gentle
  • Dr John Gurney
  • Dr Deacon Harle
  • Sophie Jane Harper
  • Heather Deborah Jameson
  • Dr Michael Edward Johnson
  • Deborah Annette Jones
  • Dr Lyndon William James Jones
  • Rakesh Kapoor
  • Jane Helen Kempton
  • Robert Keys
  • Dr Keziah Latham
  • Alexander Levit
  • Robert Michael Trevor Linsky
  • Jane Macnaughton
  • Andrew Charles Matheson
  • Dr Andrew James Morgan
  • Dr Paul Murphy
  • Joy Myint
  • Dr Shehzad Naroo
  • Yvonne Norgett
  • Martin O'Brien
  • Dr Keyur Patel
  • Hazel Gillian Pearson
  • Dr Sheila Rae
  • Russell John Ramsden
  • Nicholas James Rumney
  • Dr Kathryn Saunders
  • Ahmed Sivardeen
  • Andrew John Elder Smith
  • Karen Sparrow
  • Christopher Frank Steele
  • John Graham Tickner
  • Michael Timlin
  • Trevor Warburton
  • Barbara Joan Watson
  • Lynne Alison Weddell
  • Alison Janet Weston
  • Una Whitcombe
  • David Wilson
  • Professor James Wolffsohn

Collapsible toggler


A Fellow of the College is recognised as an optometrist of higher standing and, being a long standing member of the College, I have always wanted to upgrade my status. Now I am proud to say I am an FCOptom.

David Berkow FCOptom